The year I lost the will to read

Hi everyone

So it is now 2013 and I felt it was time to update you all on the last 3 months. I’m not sure exactly what happened, but I got to the end of September and found I could no longer read. I had lost the passion and joy that reading brought me and I couldn’t even bring myself to open a book. The only thing that still appealed to me was reading all of your lovely blogs, but some days I couldn’t even do that. For over 2 months I didn’t read, then when I decided to try to start reading again with a favourite author of mine, Marian Keys, I didn’t get the same feeling of being gripped and drawn in to the story that I usually get, especially with her books. Which in turn made me feel really disappointed. I’m not sure if I was disappointed in the book or myself but I’m worried that I’ve lost the will to read and that I won’t get it back.

I’ve just received the Hunger Games trilogy which I’ve heard good things about (again, lovely blogs), but I’m worried I’m not in the right frame of mind and that what could be a great book(s) will be twisted in to a dull melodrama in my head. This is probably the most I’ve written in a while as well, I’ve not felt the need; I think that lack of reading is probably the cause.

I’m not sure where to go from here, I feel I should just face the problem head on but I’ve already been disappointed with The Mystery of Mercy Close and I don’t want that to become a pattern. I will try again with more books but the question is should I choose one from the list or go off list again? Has anyone else ever experienced this?

Jennie

5 comments on “The year I lost the will to read

  1. Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear that. How are you feeling in yourself/your wider life? It might be a stress or feeling run down thing?

    I went through a really rough patch a few years back in which I got really ill and I couldn’t read for pleasure for nearly a year. I knew I was feeling better when I could enjoy a book again.

  2. Hi Jennie, happy new year to you 🙂

    I did experience something similar in the summer. I set myself a Good Reads target to finish 40 books in 2012. I was on target until August when I suddenly lost all concentration and didn’t read a single thing until the end of November. In that final five weeks, I finished three books.

    My loss of concentration was mostly a change in personal circumstances and life taking on a new direction but it was also because I started the wrong books at the wrong time. I needed something light and familiar in the summer and as it was I chose to tackle some books I knew were going to be a struggle.

    What I recommend is that you take a break for as long as you need. After a while you will get the itch – I did and ended up getting sucked into a book that I finished in four days. I could not put it down (incidentally it was The Last Werewolf).

    It is best not to treat it too much of a chore, so intersperse heavier stuff with something a bit more easy on the eye. Good luck and I hope you get your mojo back soon!

  3. Hi Jennie, I’m just catching up on blogs and must have missed this post in January. I had the same experience last year – I think that’s what happens when you give yourself a rigid challenge which consists of a lot of heavy/classical reads. I think you should go off list. I have and now alternate between on and off list – I’ve since got back into reading. The Hunger Games first book is a good one to start with I reckon. x

  4. I want to congratulate you on having read so many books that were outside your comfort zone. I hope that you can return to reading with pleasure, whether or not you ever blog book reviews again.

  5. Hi!
    I myself have been giving a lot of thought on why I couldn’t read anymore with much enthusiasm. It was in July this year. I didn’t do anything. I just left reading. Suddenly a month back I wanted to read books again. I picked up a book and there I was going on and on again… so, it s just a matter of time before u start reading again.. !

Leave a Reply

