Brick By (Hopefully) Not So Boring Brick

Hi everyone

I am still working on my 3 reviews, I’m finding it hard to find inspiration at the moment to write them but I promise to try harder.  I’m currently reading Magician by Raymond E Feist and I’m sad to say that at 175 pages in I’m finding it to be a poor man’s Lord of the Rings.  I’ll carry on though and see how it turns out.

I went to the library yesterday to collect some more books and nearly broke my arm carrying them out.  They are all absolutely huge literary classics and are the next few books I need to read after Magician (680 pages) and Gormenghast (950 pages).  They are:

The Woman In White by Wilkie Collins (590 pages)

Ulysses by James Joyce (930 pages)

Bleak House by Charles Dickens (990 pages)

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (960 pages)

As you can see I have some very heavy reading to get through so I need to start dedicating myself more to this challenge to have a chance of getting through these books before Christmas!  First up is Anna Karenina as the film is released on 7th September and I don’t want to spoil the book by seeing the film first.  Not sure how much hope I have of getting through it in that time but I do have a bank holiday weekend to help me out in between so you never know.

Wish me luck!

Jennie

 

6 comments on “Brick By (Hopefully) Not So Boring Brick

    • I know, I couldn’t believe it when I got to he library and saw them. Hopefully they won’t take me too long. I still haven’t found time to finish my reviews for my last three books, I’m getting behind!

  1. Boooo i’ve still got all of these epics to read too. I don’t want to. I don’t want to. I think a rebellious act may be in the pipeline and I’ll being going Off-List (shhhh) for my next read. All I can say is good luck with these!

    • The library did offer me a short version of Anna Karenina. I was tempted but decided in the end that it would be cheating. I’m 250 ish pages in, its definitely feeling a bit like a marathon. By the time I’ve got through this pile of big books I’ll be a pro; a 400-500 page book will probably feel like a short story!

Leave a Reply

