Is it really June already?

Hi everyone

How is everyone doing?  I’m getting there with my recovery after my eye operation but I still haven’t got back behind the wheel yet (probably best for everyone!) and more importantly I haven’t been able to read any more books yet either.  They are literally stacking up, this is my current list of books sat in front of me that need to be read a.s.a.p.:

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

Magician by Raymond E Feist

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake

The Twits by Roald Dahl

Double Act by Jacqueline Wilson

Once I’ve read these books I just need to read I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith and then I’ve hit a milestone: a fifth of the way through.  I really don’t want to finish reading On The Road, I’m not enjoying it.  But if I don’t finish it I will feel like I have given up on my whole challenge so basically I have no choice!  I’m just over halfway through with 145 pages of smallish print to go.  I have a feeling the library think I’m never going to return it as I took it out sometime near the beginning of March.  The fact that no one else has requested my copy of this book is a reflection of how enticing this book is.  It will definitely be a relief to finish it and get it out of the way.  Hopefully it will be the last book I encounter that I struggle to get through in my challenge.  This may be wishful thinking!

The rest of the books in the list above are a real mixed bag: two children’s books, two gigantic, well-known fantasy books and yet another book and author I have never heard of.  They should keep me going through June, and with the size of Gormenghast and Magician, maybe some of July as well.  Look out for my reviews over the coming month which should show my (or lack thereof) progress with all of these books.

Have a nice bank holiday weekend.

Jennie

One comment on “Is it really June already?

Leave a Reply

